Defining an “OQM” – Parenting with Management Skills

Beginning OQMWhat is an “OQM” (Over Qualified Mom)?

As I passed through the world of parenting, PTA and all that went with it, I met many of them. Educated, career-oriented women who had given up their” former lives” to put that experience, intelligence, and passion into raising their children and making a family.

They also are running the world behind the scenes, just in case you were curious!

So, why am I blogging? What do I have to say that hasn’t been said about parenting?

Well, maybe just a few things.

I was initially a fairly unwilling participant in this thing we call childbirth and parenting (I had vowed never to get married and never to have children!). I realized just how much I didn’t know about the subject and I started reading everything I could get my hands on. A few things were invaluable, and we will get to that later, but what I realized in a “BFO” (blinding flash of the obvious) moment was:

In general, we treat our employees in well-managed companies better than we treat our children.

Think about it. If you are fortunate enough to work for a well-managed company or for that rarity, a really good manager, you get the following: Regular Reviews after Initial Expectations are Set.

These are accompanied by rewards or consequences for performance with consistency and fairness and are designed to help you develop. You learn to negotiate and make choices and to accept the consequences of those choices and you learn how to work with other people: All kinds of other people. Wow.  It hit me like a ton of bricks.

What if I took the parenting tips I was learning from these books and combined them with the good management skills my husband and I had learned in our business careers?

What kind of children could we develop with God’s help? How could we avoid some of the pitfalls of parenting we had seen or had experienced?

That’s what this blog is going to be about.

As I have volunteered in the community and people have gotten to know my family, I am often asked, “How did you raise such great kids?” Well, nice compliment, first of all, but it is definitely a team effort between me, my husband and God. I am going to tell you a bit about myself and where I come from and how using management skills combined with parenting skills helped us to raise successful, self-motivated, good women for the next generation. If any of these things help you in your parenting journey, then that is a great thing. I am a very busy volunteer so posts will be sporadic at best, but this is just for fun, so no worries.

Read on!

Leave a Reply

